05-1 (1)

President Maithripala Sirisena says the ‘Bhikkhu Kathikawatha’ Bill presented to the Parliament, is not the ultimate Bill and the acceptance, rejection or amendments to it will prepare with the consent of Nayaka Theros of the Tri Nikayas.

He made these remarks addressing a felicitation ceremony to honour Bhikkhus and lay people of Amarapura Chapter as well as the Remembrance of Pioneers of Amarapura Chapter, held at the BMICH, today (18).

The President further said that the drafting of this Bill did not take place following the establishment of the new government and it has been drafted according to a request made by the Maha Sangha 25 years ago. He also said that every government that came into the power had taken certain steps in this regard and the present government is also engaged in the similar task with the advice and guidance of the Maha Sangha.

President Sirisena said he can see that after completing the drafting the Bill and before the Bill presented to the Parliament it has not been shown to the Maha Sangha and he has given the instruction to the Ministers, including the Prime Minister and the Minister of Buddha Sasana to present the Bill another time to the Tri Nikayas’ Sanga Nayaka Theros and to get their inclusive consent in this regard.

“While further strengthening the existing provisions regarding the Buddhism in the constitution the government will take every possible step to develop the Buddha Sasanaya,” he added.

Most Ven. Davuldena Gnanissara Mahanayake Thera of the Amarapura Maha Nikaya, the Most Venerable Kotugoda Dhammawasa Anunayaka Thero, Ven. Professor Kandegoda Wimaladhamma Thero, were felicitated at this ceremony for their immense contribution in developing the Amarapura Nikaya and the Buddha Sasanaya.

Prof. M. U. de Silva and Mr. L.H Piyasena were also felicitated at this ceremony for rendering a great service to the Amarapura Nikaya.

More than 1000 bhikkus , Ministers Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena , Patali Champaka Ranawaka and others participated in this event.

05-1 (1)


© 2015 - Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka