President Maithripala Sirisena recalled that the Buddhist Philosophy still exists in our country due to the great commitment of the Mahasangha and said that the followers should take example from the pioneers regarding these good values and perpetuate them.

He made these observations participating in the 100th birth anniversary celebrations of the Supreme Mahanayake Thera of the Sri Lanka Amarapura Maha Sangha Sabha , Most Ven. Davuldena Sri Gnanissara MahanayakeThera, held at the BMICH , today (31).

The President further said that the advices and guidance given by the Mahasangha including Most Ven. Davuldena Sri Gnanissara MahanayakeThera to rulers for the development of Sasanaya and the country were great strength to them.

The President presented a special felicitation memento and a Felicitation Volume to the Mahanayake Thera on this occasion.

A commemorative stamp also issued to mark the 100th birth anniversary of the Most Ven. Davuldena Sri Gnanissara MahanayakeThera.

“The Greatness of our history always symbolized by the Maha Sangha,” the President said and added that the Maha Sangha always take the lead in protecting our culture and disciplines in the society.

Recalling the dictum of “Bahujana hitaya- bahujana sukhaya” (for the happiness of the many, for the welfare of the many) the President further said that the moral values of the society still remain due to the commitment by the Maha Sangha for the betterment of the society.

The Maha Sangha including the Mahanayaka of the Ramanna Maha Nikaya, Most Venerable Napana Premasiri Thero, the Anu Nayake of Amarapura Nikaya, Most Venerable Aggamaha Panditha Kotugoda Dhammawasa Thero, Most Ven. Niyangoda Vijithasiri Anunayake Thero of the Malwatte Chapter, Most Venerable Vedaruwe Upali Thera, Most Ven Dodampahala Chandrasiri Nayaka Thera, Acting Chief Justice- Chandra Ekanayake, Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa, Ministers Patalie Champika Ranawaka, Wijayadasa Rajapakshe, Daya Gamage, Rajitha Senaratne, Governor of the Southern Province, Hemakumara Nanayakkara, former Speaker W. J. M. Lokubandara, Secretary of the Buddhasasana Ministry, Wasantha Ekanayake, Post Master General Rohana Abeyrathna, Additional Secretary to the President Rohana Keerthi Dissanayake and others participated in the event.



© 2015 - Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka