

# ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය අති විශෙෂ The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka EXTRAORDINARY

අංක 2178/17 - 2020 ජූනි මස 02 වැනි අඟහරුවාදා - 2020.06.02 No. 2178/17 - TUESDAY, JUNE 02, 2020

(Published by Authority)

## PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL

### **Proclamations & C., by the President**



GOTABAYA RAJAPAKSA

### PRESIDENTIAL DIRECTIVE

ESTABLISHMENT of a Presidential Task Force for Archaeological Heritage Management in the Eastern Province in accordance with the powers vested in HIS EXCELLENCY THE PRESIDENT by Article 33 of the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka.

To:-

- 1. Archaeological Chakravarthi Ven. Ellawala Medhananda Thero
- 2. The Chief Prelate for the Northern and Eastern two Provinces, Chief Sanganayake of Thamankaduwa Direction, and Chief Incumbent of Arisimalai Aranya, Ven. Panamure Thilakawansha Thero
- 3. Major General (Retired) Kamal Gunaratne Esquire Secretary to the Ministry of Defence
- 4. Dr. Senarath Bandara Dissanayake Esquire Director-General of Archaeology
- 5. Ms. Chandra Herath Land Commissioner General
- 6. Ms. A.L.S.C. Perera Surveyor General
- Prof. Raj Kumar Somadeva Esquire Senior Lecturer, University of Kelaniya



#### 2A I කොටස : (I) ජෛදය - ශ් ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ අති විශෙෂ ගැසට් පතුය - 2020.06.02 Part I : Sec. (I) - GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA - 02.06.2020

- 8. Prof. Kapila Gunawardena Esquire Medical Faculty, University of Peradeniya
- 9. Deshabandu Thennakoon Esquire Senior DIG, Western Province
- 10. H.E.M.W.G. Dissanayake Esquire Provincial Land Commissioner, Eastern Province
- 11. Dilith Jayaweera Esquire Chairman of Derana Media Network

#### Greetings !

While emphasizing that it is the responsibility of the Government to preserve the historical heritage of Sri Lanka and preserve it for future generations, as stated in the policy statement "Vistas of Prosperity and Splendour,

And, considering that Sri Lanka inherits a great and proud history and that a country's archaeological heritage is the source that builds the uniqueness of such nation and reflects its historical evolution,

And, considering that there is a growing danger that these heritages are becoming degraded with time due to natural and man-made action,

And, considering that Sri Lanka has entered into various conventions, both nationally and internationally to protect such heritages,

Now, therefore, I, Gotabaya Rajapaksa, President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, reposing great trust and confidence in your prudence, ability and fidelity, appoint you the said :-

- 1. Archaeological Chakravarthi Ven. Ellawala Medhananda Thero
- 2. The Chief Prelate for the Northern and Eastern two Provinces, Chief Sanganayake of Thamankaduwa Direction, and Chief Incumbent of Arisimalai Aranya Ven. Panamure Thilakawansha Thero
- 3. Major General (Retired) Kamal Gunaratne Esquire Secretary to the Ministry of Defence
- 4. Dr. Senarath Bandara Dissanayake Esquire Director-General of Archaeology
- 5. Ms. Chandra Herath Land Commissioner General
- 6. Ms. A.L.S.C. Perera Surveyor General
- 7. Prof. Raj Kumar Somadeva Esquire Senior Lecturer, University of Kelaniya
- 8. Prof. Kapila Gunawardena Esquire Medical Faculty, University of Peradeniya
- 9. Deshabandu Thennakoon Esquire Senior DIG, Western Province
- 10. H.E.M.W.G. Dissanayake Esquire Provincial Land Commissioner, Eastern Province
- 11. Dilith Jayaweera Esquire Chairman of Derana Media Network

as the members of the Presidential Task Force for Archaeological Heritage Management in the Eastern Province and to execute the below-mentioned tasks:

- 1. Identify sites of archaeological importance in the Eastern Province.
- 2. Identify and implement an appropriate program for the management of archaeological heritage by conserving and restoring such identified sites and antiquities.
- 3. Identify the extent of land that should be allocated for such archaeological sites and take necessary measures to allocate them properly and legally.
- 4. Preserve the cultural value of sites of archaeological importance and promote the uniqueness of Sri Lanka, both locally and internationally, and make recommendations for the promotion of such heritages.

Also, I appoint Secretary to the Ministry of Defence Major General (Retired) Kamal Gunaratne Esquire as the Chairman of the Task Force,

## and Senior Assistant Secretary to the President Ms. Jeevanthie Senanayake as the Secretary of the said Task Force.

I hereby authorize the Presidential Task Force for Archaeological Heritage Management in the Eastern Province to investigate and issue directions as may be necessary in connection with the functions entrusted to it.

Further, as members of the Presidential Task Force on Archaeological Heritage Management in the Eastern Province, I am hereby authorized to submit reports to you from time to time.

Further, the Presidential Task Force on Archaeological Heritage Management in the Eastern Province may issue instructions or request that all Government Officers and other persons requesting assistance in the provision of services comply with such instructions. I hereby instruct all Government Officers and others to provide all possible assistance and provide all information that may be provided.

And, I do hereby direct the said Task Force to report to me, all cases of delay or default on the part of any Public Officer or Officer of any Ministry, Government Department, State Corporation or other similar institution in the discharge of duties and responsibilities assigned to such public officer or such institution.

Given at Colombo under the Seal of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka on the  $01^{st}$  day of June Two Thousand and Twenty.

By His Excellency's Command,

P. B. JAYASUNDERA, Secretary to the President.