

ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය සහ විශේෂ

The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

අංක 2190/17 - 2020 අගෝස්තු මස 24 වැනි සඳුදා - 2020.08.24 No. 2190/17 - MONDAY, AUGUST 24, 2020

(Published by Authority)

PART I: SECTION (I) — GENERAL

Proclamations & C., by the President

PROCLAMATION MADE BY HIS EXCELLENCY THE PRESIDENT OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA



GOTABAYA RAJAPAKSA

Presidential Directive

To:-

- 1. Archaeological Chakravarthi Ven. Ellawala Medhananda Thero
- 2. The Chief Prelate for the Northern and Eastern two Provinces, Chief Sanganayake of Thamankaduwa Direction, and Chief Incumbent of Arisimalai Aranya, Ven. Panamure Thilakawansha Thero
- 3. Major General (Retired) Kamal Gunaratne Esquire Secretary to the Ministry of Defence
- 4. Dr. Senarath Bandara Dissanayake Esquire Director-General of Archeology
- 5. Ms. Chandra Herath
 Land Commissioner General



- 6. Ms. A.L.S.C. Perera Surveyor General
- 7. Prof. Raj Kumar Somadeva Esquire Senior Lecturer, University of Kelaniya
- 8. Prof. Kapila Gunawardena Esquire Medical Faculty, University of Peradeniya
- 9. Deshabandu Thennakoon Esquire Senior DIG, Western Province
- 10. H.E.M.W.G. Dissanayake Esquire Provincial Land Commissioner, Eastern Province
- Dilith Jayaweera Esquire
 Chairman of Derana Media Network
- 12. Rear Admiral Ananda Peiris Esquire
 Director General of Civil Security Department

Greetings!

As you have been appointed as members of the Presidential Task Force for Archaeological Heritage Management in the Eastern Province established by the Presidential Directive dated 01.06.2020 by exercising the powers vested in me by Article 33 of the Constitution of Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka,

And, since many of the Archeological Heritages in the Eastern Province are based on the Buddhist religious background and associated with those places of worship, it has been recognized that the guidance and patronage of the Venerable Maha Sangha is still needed in the identification and management of those heritages,

Further, I, Gotabaya Rajapaksa, President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, in accordance with the powers vested in me by Article 33 of the Constitution of Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, appoint the following Bhikkus as the members of the Presidential Task Force for Archaeological Heritage Management in the Eastern Province, established in terms of the aforesaid Presidential Directive, reposing great trust and confidence in their prudence, ability and fidelity.

- 1. Abhidhana Anunayaka of the Asgiriya Chapter Most Venerable Vendaruwe Dharmakeerthi Sri Rathanapala Upali Thero
- 2. General Secretary of the Malwathu Chapter Ven. Dr. Pahamune Sumangala Nayaka Thero
- 3. General Secretary of the Asgiri Chapter Dr. Ven. Medagama Dhammananda Nayaka Thero
- 4. Member of the Karaka Sangha Sabha of the Malwathu Chapter Shasthravedi Ven. Ambanwalle Sri Sumangala Thero.

Given at Colombo under the Seal of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka on the 19th day of August, Two Thousand and Twenty.

By His Excellency's Command,

P. B. JAYASUNDERA, Secretary to the President.

09 - 190